Women’s March On The Boarder

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In case you live under a rock, today was a huge day. Today a movement took place in cities across the world. Large communities rallied together, peacefully and respectfully, to support the rights of all humans; to be heard.

Today is January 21, 2017 and I was party of history.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last night, as I lay in bed and came across my notifications of events I’d attend on my Facebook, the title “Women’s March On The Boarder” appeared. In the chaos of it all, I had forgotten it was this morning. I immediately got up from bed, as I watched my husband and our four dogs sleep carelessly, and pulled out a piece of poster I had from a recent project. I picked up my sharpie, gathered my thoughts and wrote what felt right.

My husband was kind enough to leave work early so that I could participate in this march while he took care of Billie Jo. (Is he the best or what?)

I slipped on my rain boots and gloves knowing we’d be facing some ugly weather, gathered my things and sped to the location.

When I got there, something in the air smelt different. Almost pure and happy. There were women and men, cliques of kids, and even pets! All bundled and cold but with light reflecting their smiling cheeks. Everyone was happy and positive. It felt good.

From afar, I assume we looked like confetti. Specks of every color, in unity.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve always considered myself to be a bit political. I think it’s important to speak your mind on your basic human rights. I think it’s important to be part of any change that can effect you and your neighbor.

I’ve been part of movements before, but nothing like today. I live in El Paso, Texas. A city that boarders Mexico and New Mexico. We are a pot of beautifully mixed shades. I’m a proud mother, a blessed wife and that kind of woman I would like my daughter to look up to one day. I am Mexican. I am human.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today communities of people fought for rights we’ve long deserved. For woman’s rights, the LGBT community’s rights, Immigrant rights, and the right to feel the need to speak.

I feel really proud of living in a city that understands the important of love and tolerance for all.

Today was really magical.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

xoxo,
Lola

Leave a Reply

